Pork and Potato Stew

Leave a comment

September 3, 2016 by mummumskitchen

I was finding ways to “get rid” of my extra shabu shabu and pork soft bones. Seeing what vegetables I left in my kitchen, I decided to make this pork and potato stew. All the necessary nutrients are in one pot and just need a bowl of rice to go with it. That will be one good hot meal after work.

PIC_20160822_182024_DSC_0002A-1

ingredients.

Shabu shabu or soft bones or any other meat of your preferences
Carrot, cut longish
Potato, cubed
Garlic, cloves smashed
Ginger slices
Cooking oil
Sesame oil
Marinade sauce (Light soy sauce, sesame oil, corn flour, pepper)
Rock sugar
Light soy sauce
Dark soy sauce
Water
Tapioca flour mix with water

methods.

  1. Heat the wok and saute ginger slices and garlic until fragrant
  2. Add your preferred meat and stir fry. See mum mum’s notes below.
  3. Add potato and carrot. Continue to saute
  4. Add light soy sauce, dark soy sauce, rock sugar to the wok
  5. Pour in the water and bring it to boil
  6. Lower heat and simmer for around 25 minutes until potato are soft and pork are tender.
  7. Thicken the gravy with tapioca flour mix.

Mum mum’s notes:
Depending on the type of meat used, the length of time used to stir fry will be different. Like if I use the soft bones, I have stir fry longer. But if I put shabu shabu, I will only put that after I add potato and carrot.

Also you can consider boiling the potato first before cooking this dish. This would shorten the cooking time.

Leave a Reply

