Hong Kong Soya Sauce Chicken Noodle

Leave a comment

February 25, 2017 by mummumskitchen

I always love soya sauce chicken and I miss the type that my mum always cooked for me when I was younger. But now, I hardly ever tasted that type of soya sauce chicken anymore as my mum no longer cooks that. (Maybe I should pester her to cook for me). So I went to research for the Hong Kong Soya Sauce chicken recipe and found one from johorkaki.blogspot.com and modify it slightly. The taste? Still not the same as what my mum cooked.. but the chicken is very tender and juicy. Yummy!

ingredients.

2 Chicken thighs
Dark soy sauce
Light soy sauce
Sesame oil
Black vinegar (I use the bull dog brand)
Cooking oil
Sugar
Spices pack (which is sold in most of the grocery store and contains star anise, cloves and cinnamon stick)
Garlic cloves, smashed slightly
Ginger, sliced
Vegetable (of your preference. I like caixin)
Noodles (you can choose instant noodles too)
img_20170102_175051-1-1280x960

methods.

  1. Heat up a pot and add some cooking oil. Saute the garlic cloves, ginger and the spices till they are fragrant.
  2. Add 1 cup of dark soy sauce, 1/2 cup light soy sauce, 1 tablespoon black vinegar, 1 tablespoon of sesame oil, 4 cups of water into the pot. Bring it to boil. Add 8 tablespoon of brown sugar. Continue to boil. Taste the sauce and add sugar or soy sauce till your preferred sweetness or saltiness.
  3. Put the chicken thighs into the pot.
  4. Continue to boil the sauce at high heat and make sure that the chicken thighs are submerged in the sauce.
  5. When the stock is boiling steady, turn off the heat and cover the pot with a lid.
  6. Let the chicken thigh poach slowly for 30 minutes.
  7. In the meantime, boil another wok of water and boil the vegetable for few minutes. Drain the vegetables and set aside. In the same wok, put the noodles in and cook till they are soften. Drain the noodles and put them into another big bowl of cool water. Soak the noodles for a while, before returning back to the wok. Cook for a min, drain and set aside on the plate.
  8. After 30 minutes, you can place the vegetable and the chicken thighs on the plate of noodles. Pour some of the soya sauce over the noodles. Ready to eat!

Mum mum’s notes:

I am using this brand of the bulldog brand black vinegar, which gives a sweet and sour vinegar taste. Prefer this brand over others.

Image result for bulldog black vinegar

For the left over sauce, DO NOT throw that away! You can cool it down and freeze it. Can reuse it to braise chicken wings, duck wings, eggs etc.. Just need to add more water or sauces according to your preference and you are ready to cook another braised dish. I will be sharing other braised dish, which I make use of the same sauce. But of course, if you dare, you can keep on using the same sauce over and over again.. (I heard that for those traditional restaurant selling braised food, their braise sauce is kept for at least 60 years!!!) For me, after using the sauce for around 3 times, I threw the remaining sauce away. 🙂

Leave a Reply

