Corn & Radish Soup

Leave a comment

April 14, 2017 by mummumskitchen

My boy is always a picky kid when it comes to having a meal. The only type of dish he is willing to finish it all is soupy macaroni. So how to ensure he has all the nutrients when he refuses to eat meat and vegetable as well? I have to make sure all the nutrients he required is in the soup. So each time I will cook many different types of soup and freeze enough for the weekend. When it comes to vegetable soup, I will simply cook the soup with whatever ingredients I can find in my fridge.

ingredients.

Pearl corn, cut into sections
Carrots, cut into sections
Radish, cut into sections
Red dates
Water
Salt to taste
IMG_20170114_145959-1 (1280x960)

methods.

  1. Add all the ingredients (except the salt) in the pot and bring it to boil
  2. Reduce to simmer and continue to simmer for at least 2 hours
  3. Add salt to taste.
  4. Ready to serve!

Mum mum’s notes:

Depending on your kid’s “condition”, like my boy who is heaty in nature, I will only add 4 red dates (which add a sweet flavor to the soup_. Red dates are heaty. But of course, it will be balance out by the radish which is cooling in nature.

If you like, you can add pork ribs too. If  you are, you have to blanch the pork ribs before adding to the pot of water with the ingredients.

I usually will only add salt towards the end when I about to stop the simmering. Because some of the food (not for this soup) may release some saltiness to the soup, so usually I will choose to add salt only towards the end so that the soup will not be too salty.

Leave a Reply

