Marmite Fried Rice

Leave a comment

April 21, 2017 by mummumskitchen

Marmite is one of the food that my mum used to feed me when I was young. But I never like it. Somehow it got this taste which gives me that yucky taste. This was when I was young. When I grew up to be a mother, I learnt that marmite is actually one of the nutritious food to give to a kid. Well, the taste is still remain yucky to me if I just have it “raw”. I happened to come across the recipe from Marmite Facebook and decided to give it a try. Wow, it totally tasted different now.. And luckily my boy likes this marmite rice. 🙂

ingredients.

Cooked white rice
1 tablespoon Marmite
Vegetable oil for cooking
Light soy sauce
Minced garlic
Chopped French beans
Chopped mushrooms
Mixed vegetables (Corn, carrot, green peas)
Eggs, beaten
White pepper to taste
IMG_20170116_185542-1

methods.

  1. Heat oil in wok and saute the minced garlic till fragrance. Add French beans, mushrooms and mixed vegetables. Stir well. Then add the white rice.
  2. Add the soy sauce and marmite into the well mixed rice.
  3. Add the beaten egg mixture into the rice. Stir well and make sure every grain of rice is coated with the egg.
  4. Add some pepper to taste and give it a final stir.
  5. Ready to serve!

Mum mum’s notes:

You may wish to add some meat like chicken breast meat into the fried rice to give it more protein.. And for the white rice, it is better to use those overnight refrigerated white rice so that the fried rice will not be “lumpy” but “grainy”.. “Grainy” fried rice will definitely taste better than lumpy ones!

Leave a Reply

