Vietnamese Noodle Bowl with Glazed Pork

Leave a comment

May 5, 2017 by mummumskitchen

I used to have this vermicelli in Miss Saigon (a restaurant which was closed down.. Sadly) I love the sauce and the pork, which I cannot find the right taste anywhere now in any restaurant. So I decide to try make the same dish with the same taste. But of course, while it doesn’t taste the same as the one made in Miss Saigon, I do enjoy this vermicelli.

ingredients.

Fish sauce
Sugar
Garlic, minced
Pork chops
Vietnamese vermicelli
Vegetable oil
Cucumbers, shredded
Mint, chopped (optional)
Chopped peanuts (optional)
Ingredients for nuoc cham (chilli sauce)
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup warm water
3 tablespoon lime juice (I use the green one)
1/4 fish sauce
1-2 chilli padi, cut to very fine rings (seeds removed)
Garlic, minced
IMG_20170120_184955-1 (960x1280)

methods.

  1. To make nuoc cham, add fish sauce, water, sugar and lime juice in a bowl and mix well until sugar is dissolved. Add the minced garlic and chilli and stir. Set aside.
  2. Marinate the pork chops with fish sauce, sugar, garlic, water for at least an hour. (I usually will marinate overnight)
  3. Heat the oil in a wok at high heat. Pan fried the pork chops until they are golden brown. Pour the remaining marinade sauce into the wok until the sauce is thickened to a glaze. Set the pork chop aside and slice them thinly when they are cool.
  4. Cook the vermicelli as per instructions. Add the pork, cucumbers, carrot and daikon pickles, mint, chopped peanuts on top. Pour nuoc cham into the bowl of vermicelli before eating.. Enjoy!

Mum mum’s notes:

In Nam Nam noodles, there is a similar vermicelli dish too and it serves with the Vietnamese fried spring roll. I think it is a good match too. But however, I failed to get the right taste for the spring roll.. Hence I did not post the recipe here.. Let me try it again before I post the recipe here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

